ARK: Manual Restore Backup

From Survival Servers
Jump to: navigation, search

The backup feature through the control panel is a separate service that we offer and it affects both single servers and cluster servers simultaneously. If you want / need to restore a specific server, such as your primary one, you can do this via FTP. For instructions on how to use FTP, please refer to the FTP Access page.

Using FTP, your backups will be found in /ShooterGame/Saved/SavedArkXXXX, where XXXX is the game server ID associated with your account. If you have a cluster server, the folder for the cluster data will be in SavedArkXXXXTransfer. Inside either folder, there will be various files and backups for world, player, and tribe.

The world backups have a specific file format as follows: MapName_Day.Month.Year_Hour.Minute.Second.ark.
The timestamps are always in GMT time zone (Eastern time +5 hours, Pacific time +8 hours). Here is an example of a server with Ragnarok as the main map and with backups available for it.

Ragnarok Backup1.png

  • Ragnarok.ark (current map file)
  • Ragnarok_13.02.2018_8.11.28.ark (backup taken on February 13th, 2018 at 8:11 AM, GMT or 3:11 AM, Eastern)
  • Ragnarok_13.02.2018_21.11.28.ark (backup taken on February 13th, 2018 at 9:11 PM, GMT or 4:11 PM, Eastern)


To restore a backup manually, simply access the folder via FTP and do the following while the server is stopped. Using the example above, here's how to do that.

  1. Copy and paste a backup you wish to restore to, such as Ragnarok_13.02.2018_10.21.28.ark
  2. Rename Ragnarok.ark to Ragnarok_old.ark. (backup purposes)
  3. Rename Ragnarok_13.02.2018_10.21.28 - Copy.ark to Ragnarok.ark.
    Ragnarok Backup2.png
  4. Restart your server for the backup to be restored.